Skip to main content

INJUSTICE/CIVIL RIGHTS/SOCIAL JUSTICE: The Scottsboro Boys

The Scottsboro Boys

The Scottsboro Boys were nine African-American teenagers accused in Alabama of raping two White American women on a train in 1931. The landmark set of legal cases from this incident dealt with racism and the right to a fair trial.

Scottsboro Boys Trial

The trial of Tom Robinson in TKAM has many similarities to the real-life trial of the Scottsboro Boys.

  • Scottsboro: An American Tragedy
    PBS program focusing on the Scottsboro trial. Includes primary sources, timeline and special features. Also includes information on how poor women as a class were treated by the law.
  • Scottsboro Timeline
    Timeline for the above programme
  • Scottsboro Boys
    From Spartacus Educational details of the trials and links to relevant primary sources.
  • Scottsboro Boys Trial: Famous American Trials
    This website from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law provides documents and evidence from each step of the trial.
  • A Scottsboro Protest Exhibit
    The University of Illinois Modern Poetry site shows literature protesting the trial.
  • Historical Context
    This chart provides a side-by-side comparison of the Scottsboro Trial and Tom Robinson's trial.

Books at TRHS

The Scottsboro Boys

The trial of Tom Robinson in TKAM has many similarities to the real-life trial of the Scottsboro Boys.

  • Scottsboro: An American Tragedy
    PBS program focusing on the Scottsboro trial. Includes primary sources, timeline and special features. Also includes information on how poor women as a class were treated by the law.
  • Scottsboro Timeline
    Timeline for the above programme
  • Scottsboro Boys
    From Spartacus Educational details of the trials and links to relevant primary sources.
  • Scottsboro Boys Trial: Famous American Trials
    This website from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law provides documents and evidence from each step of the trial.
  • A Scottsboro Protest Exhibit
    The University of Illinois Modern Poetry site shows literature protesting the trial.
  • Historical Context
    This chart provides a side-by-side comparison of the Scottsboro Trial and Tom Robinson's trial.

Scottsboro Boys Museum

Emory University Associate Professor of History Carol Anderson explains how the Scottsboro Trial was a miscarriage of justice and the legal changes that resulted from the trial.

World | Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:59pm EST