Skip to main content

Reading Around the World: Resources for finding World Literature

Read your way across the globe with EPIC READS PLANET YA maps!

Resources

Africa Book Club: http://www.africabookclub.com/
Lists African authors by country

African Books Collective: http://www.africanbookscollective.com/
Has many hard-to-find books from Africa

African Writers Series: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_...
List of books by African writers published by Heineman since 1962

Allrecipes.com: http://allrecipes.com/Recipes/World-C...
World recipes sorted by region

Arab Women Writers: http://arabwomenwriters.com/
Books by female authors from the Middle East

Around the World in 80 Books' Bookshelf: https://www.goodreads.com/group/books...
Over 29,000 books categorized by setting

Better World Books http://www.betterworldbooks.com/
Online bookstore who donates a book to someone in need for every book sold. Great selection and prices!

Bibliotravel: http://www.bibliotravel.com/
To search books by setting

Book Browse: http://www.bookbrowse.com/category/
Browse by genre, time period, geographical setting and a wide range of themes

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/
Online bookstore with free shipping worldwide

Book Drum http://www.bookdrum.com/
Great cultural resource! Adds pictures, videos, maps, & music for the reader to further experience a book

Books Set In: http://www.bookssetin.com/
Books sorted by setting

Carol Hurst's Childrens Literature Site: http://www.carolhurst.com/subjects/us...
Children & YA books sorted by US state setting

Canada Reads: http://www.cbc.ca/books/canadareads/
Awesome resource for Canadian literature

Celebration of Women Writers: http://digital.library.upenn.edu/wome...
Search books by female author's country or ethnicity

Cozy Mystery List: http://www.cozy-mystery.com/
Comprehensive list of cozy mysteries

Culture Trip http://explore.theculturetrip.com/
Books, movies, and art by country

Dalkey Archive Press: http://www.dalkeyarchive.com/catalog/...
Books sorted by country

Dalkey Archive Press: http://www.dalkeyarchive.com/catalog/...
Fiction sorted by continent

Detective and the Toga: http://histmyst.org/
Mysteries set in ancient Rome and Greece

dmoz Open Directory Project http://www.dmoz.org/Arts/Literature/W...
Huge directory of literature links arranged by nationality

Fantastic Fiction: http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/cou...
Search for authors by country or by name

Flashlight Worthy: http://www.flashlightworthybooks.com/
Recommendations and book lists by topic

Goodreads Literature at Every Latitude: http://www.goodreads.com/featured_lis...
Book recommendations by country

Goodreads Places: http://www.goodreads.com/places/
Lists all book settings for those book that have a settings link

Google Lit Trips: http://www.googlelittrips.com/GoogleL...
Mainly children's and YA literature

The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/serie...
World literature tour

Historical Novel Info: http://www.historicalnovels.info/inde...
Over 5,000 historical novels categorized by time and place

Idlewild Books: http://s75333.gridserver.com/
World literature and travelogues sorted by country

Independent: http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/a...
Guide to literary Africa

Library Thing: http://www.librarything.com/groups/re...
Reading globally

LibriVox: http://www.librivox.org
Free audio versions of public domain books

Longitude Books: http://www.longitudebooks.com/
Recommended reading for travelers

Literature Map: http://www.literature-map.com/
Find new authors based on authors you have already read

MacMillan World Literature Classics: http://us.macmillan.com/all/editorsli...
Lots of author bios and some good book descriptions of books around the world

The Modern Novel http://www.themodernnovel.com/
World fiction and authors arranged by country

NEA Read Across America: http://www.nea.org/grants/13235.htm
Children's & YA adult books sorted by US state setting

New York Review Books: http://www.nybooks.com/books/browse/i...
International literature

Open Library: https://openlibrary.org/
Borrow books in ebook format. Lots of hard to find and out of print books

Oxygen Books: http://www.oxygenbooks.co.uk/
Literary collages of world cities

Packabook: http://www.packabook.com/
Fiction, memoirs, and travelogues, sorted by country

PEN Atlas http://www.englishpen.org/pen-atlas-h...
Showcases international authors

Politics & Prose: http://www.politics-prose.com/fiction...
List of fiction books by country

Project Gutenburg: http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/
Books sorted by foreign language

Read Me Something You Love http://readmesomethingyoulove.com/?pa...
Online podcasting project where people read aloud and discuss their favorite books

Stop, You're Killing Me!: http://www.stopyourekillingme.com/Loc...
Murder mysteries sorted by world setting

Three Percent: http://www.rochester.edu/College/tran...
A resource for international literature at the University of Rochester

A Traveler's Library: http://atravelerslibrary.com/
Books and movies to inspire travel

TrekEarth: http://www.trekearth.com/
Photography from places all over the world

TripFiction: http://www.tripfiction.com/
Search for fiction books by location

The United States of YA Literature: http://www.epicreads.com/blog/the-uni...
YA books from each US state

What Should I Read Next?: http://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/se...
Book recommendations and suggestions based on past books you have enjoyed

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_...
List of novelists by nationality

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category...
Novels by country of setting

Words without Borders: http://wordswithoutborders.org/books/
Online magazine of international literature

World Digital Library http://www.wdl.org/en/
Books searchable by continent

World Literature Forum: http://www.worldliteratureforum.com/f...
Discussions on world literature