Skip to main content

EBSCO LibGuides: Home

EBSCO HOST

Timberlane, through the state of New Hampshire, subscribes to several databases created by EBSCO.  Articles on a wide variety of topics can be retrieved from magazines, journals and newspapers.

IF PROMPTED OUR PASSWORD AND ID ARE: TIMBERLANEH AND 03865

 

Follow Us

Stay current on EBSCO, as well as industry news:

In addition to Twitter, we are on these social media sites:

EBSCO on Twitter

Tips for searching EBSCO

BOOLEAN OPERATORS

      Boolean operators are used to connect words to broaden or narrow a search.  They are:  "and," "or," and "not."  A search is narrowed when "and" connects words to each other, e.g. "children and adults."  Both words must be in an article.  The word, "not," narrows a search, also.  "Children not adults" excludes adults from the search.  However, when using "or," e.g. "children or adults," the search is broader because the computer is searching  for both groups of people but, not necessarily, in the same article.

 

FULL-TEXT BOX

      If time is a factor and articles cannot be obtained from other libraries, the search should be narrowed by selecting the database's full-text box. 

 

JOURNALS

      If the article is not in the database, you should do a "Periodical Title" search in Google Scholar. The journal that has the desired article may be online.

 

PARENTHESES

     When typing a search inquiry in the "Find" box, use parentheses ( ) to group words. Those words are searched as a group. It does not matter in which order they were typed.  For example, (identity theft) can retrieve the term, identity theft and the words, theft of someone's identity.

 

PUBLICATION DATES

     To increase or decrease your results, use the "Publication Date" box or slider to tell the computer what publication dates the articles it retrieves should have.

 

QUOTATION MARKS

     If a search term is enclosed in quotation marks, "", the exact term will be searched in the database.  The words, morbid and obesity, in quotation marks, e.g. "morbid obesity" tell the computer that it is an exact term which should be searched, accordingly.

 

SUBJECT TERMS OR THESAURUS FEATURES

     To avoid getting some false hits, it is important to remember to use the subject terms and thesaurus features to find helpful/appropriate search terms for a search.

 

TRUNCATION

     One way to broaden a search is to truncate a word.  This means that the computer can search for words that have the same root, but have different endings.  The asterisk, *, symbolizes truncation.  It is used at the end of the root of a word.  For example, the root, "comput" plus the asterisk, *, in the "Find" box may result in the following words, "computation," "compute," "computer," and "computing." 

EBSCO Tutorials

This tutorial provides an overview of the features of the EBSCOhost interface.

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using EBSCOhost.

This tutorial demonstrates how to use Advanced Searching on the EBSCOhost interface with the Guided Style Find Fields.

Loading

Types of articles found within EBSCO

ABSTRACT

     The abstract is a brief summary of the article.  It provides information to help the researcher determine if the article is a good source to use.  It is found on the detailed record page.  An example is shown in the tutorial, "Reading an Article."

LINKED FULL TEXT

     This link directs you to the full text which is in another EBSCO database.

MeSH

     The acronym, MeSH, stands for "Medical Subject Headings."  The subject headings are created by the National Library of Medicine.  This controlled vocabulary will help students know which search terms to use.  Some of the databases in the "Health/Medicine/Nursing" category use MeSH.  Please refer to the tutorial, "Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings," for details on how to use the medical subject headings.

SCHOLARLY (PEER-REVIEWED) JOURNALS

     Peer-reviewed journals consist of articles that were evaluated by two or more experts before they were published.  This limiter is found on the basic search page, the advanced search page and among the facets beside the result list.  This feature narrows the search results and retrieves scholarly research materials.  In addition, many IU Northwest professors require their students to use this feature.

THESAURUS

     The thesaurus consists of controlled vocabulary.  It indicates which terms are broader, narrower, related to or replaced by other terms.  Many of the terms are defined, also.  This work helps students to select the appropriate terms to use in a search.