Skip to main content

United States History: Home

The information in this guide will support projects and assignments in Unites States History

United States History

The United States History Course at the High School begins at the end of the Civil War, highlighting events from the latter part of the 19th Century, all of the 20th Century and into the 21st Century.  Topics include Reconstruction, The Western Frontier, The Industrial Age, Immigration, WWI and WWII, The Cold War, Civil Rights, NYC and 9/11 and Today's U.S.

Use the tabs above to further research highlighted topics.

This day in History

Helpful History Resources

  • Digital History
    A compilation of primary and secondary sources, timelines, and images from American History organized by topic and era.
  • Biography of America
    An interactive website including maps, diagrams, photographs, primary source excerpts, and secondary sources on American History.
  • History Matters
    Offers first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence, as well as links to web resources.
  • American Memory from The Library of Congress
    A vast collection of primary sources about American History, organized by subject.
  • American Rhetoric
    Database of and index to full text, video and audio versions of speeches, debates, lectures, legal proceedings, and interviews from American history.
  • Our Documents, The National Archives
    Offers 100 milestone documents that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
  • University of Oklahoma College of Law
    A chronology of US historical documents.
  • The Price of Freedom, Americans at War
    Integrates Flash video and text to examine armed conflicts involving the U.S. from the Revolutionary War to the war in Iraq.
  • Newseum
    Includes online exhibits focused on editorial cartoons, photography, newspapers and magazines and the role each has played in telling the story of America.
  • Ted
    Links to talks by leaders in technology, entertainment and design.
  • Pew Research Center
    A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

United States History Documents

Documenting the South

Civics and Government Resources

  • Our Documents, The National Archives
    Offers 100 milestone documents that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
  • Oyez
    A multi-media archive devoted to the Supreme Court and its work (organized by date or issue).
  • Thomas (The Library of Congress)
    A searchable database for the U.S. Congress which includes information on bills and resolutions, current activity in Congress, and the Congressional Record.
  • World Factbook
    Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries around the world.
  • Voting in America
    Voting America examines long-term patterns in presidential election politics in the United States from the 1840s to today as well as some patterns in recent congressional election politics.
  • GPO Access: Official Federal Government at your Fingertips
    Federal Digital Systems - America's authentic government information

History/Government/Religion Websites

Library Media Specialist

Nancy Green's picture
Nancy Green
Contact:
Timberlane Regional High School
36 Greenough Road
Plaistow, New Hampshire 03865

Ben's Guide to US History